UNDER CONSTRUCTION! This site is a few years out of date but feel free to have a look around anyway. I'll be updating in due course. Thanks. Dean, October 2019

Awards and Fellowships

  1. The Pulitzer Prize

    1994, Investigative Reporting

  2. Investigative Fund Fellow

    2013, Nation Institute

  3. Center for Media and Communications Studies Fellow

    2013, Central European University

  4. Best in Business, Feature (circulation less than 75,000)

    2012, Society of Business Editors and Writers

  5. Best in Business, Feature (circulation less than 75,000)

    2011, SABEW

  6. Best In Business, Opinion/ Column (Circulation less than 75,000)

    2011, SABEW

  7. Arthur Rowse Award for Press Criticism

    2010, National Press Club

  8. Mirror Award, Best In-depth Piece/Traditional Media

    2010, S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University

  9. Bart Richards Award For Media Criticism (shared with CJR)

    2010, College of Communications, Penn State

  10. Best nonprofit Website
    (as part of “Katrina: An Unnatural Disaster,” Open Society Institute)

    2008, Webby Award

  11. Katrina Media Fellowship

    2006, Open Society Institute

  12. Lifetime Achievement

    2005, The Owners Counsel (for work on eminent domain)

  13. 1st place for large papers (team)

    1994, Investigative Reporters and Editors, IRE Medal

  14. Association “Publick Occurrences” Award (team)

    1994, The New England Associated Press News Executives

  15. 1st place Features

    1992, NEAPNEA

  16. 1st place General News (team)

    1992, NEAPNEA

  17. 1st place Spot News (team)

    1992, NEAPNEA

  18. NEAPNEA “Publick Occurrences” Award (team)

    1992, NEAPNEA

  19. The Sevellon Brown Award (team)


  20. 1st place, News Features

    1985, Alabama A.P. Award

  21. 1st place, Business Writing

    1984, Alabama A.P. Award